Cornell, one

I have never been to Cornell. Don’t believe I have even been to an Ivy League school. Amazed by the history, and much like moving from San Diego to Wisconsin, there are things here that I have never seen before. Different trees, different flowers, actually saw a chipmunk running through the grass.

Enough time for a quick walk from the Statler Hotel, past the halls of Stimson, Uris, Day, Rockefeller, toward Beebe Lake. The lake held back by a small damn and neat gorge area. Triphammer Footbridge allows a closer look.

Canadian Geese chewed on the new grass and hissed when I got too close to them and their yellow chicks. I come across another footbridge, dedicated by Henry Woodward Sackett from the class of 1875.

The sun starts to set, and I start walking back through the Arts Quad to Libe Slope and my first glimpse of magnolias. I can’t place which kind since they are different from the Southern California ones, smaller, more plentiful on tree, more pink and purple.

The sun goes down, the Ithica cold air.

About blpawelek

Dad, hiker, writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

