Peter Schwartz, The Wrong Heaven The Right Hell

I am typically not one for comedy cds or performances. For the most part, they were a let down and a considerable waste of time. So, I was apprehensive about The Wrong Heaven, The Right Hell by Peter Schwartz. I dig his writing and particularly his art, so I gave it a try.

Over the 33 tracks (that to my knowledge are all voiced by Peter), I laughed embarrasingly loud a bunch of times and there are a few classic lines …

Maybe I gotta work it like a Payless,” from Spider Pink Elephant Trip. This was one of the many lines that I only partially understood, mostly not, but after a 2nd or 3rd listen found it pretty damn funny.

“The Lion’s Den” is my favorite story of the CD, awesome from start to end. Here are two mystery lines for you to ponder … neither are what you think.
“We did the respectful … we waited.”
“It almost seemed like it was a prejudice or something.”

Some other reviews, and you can learn more/can buy at Paper Hero Press.

Here’s what people have been saying about PETER SCHWARTZ and his poetry, prose, art, and comedy:

The first time I met Peter Schwartz I was scheduled to follow him at a reading and he went from reciting poetry to belting out a quite emotional rendition of “Amazing Grace”. My first thought was, what a f**ker, I’m supposed to follow that? My second thought though was this guy may be a f**ker, but he’s definitely my kind of f**ker and I need to get to know him. What has since transpired are a series of e-mails that have confirmed my initial suspicions. Peter Schwartz is a funny, talented, pop-culture spewing dude who is maybe just a little f**ked-up. He is also someone you need to know…Peter himself, is wonderful and heavy, in love with words and endlessly searching to make better sense of confinement and loss and their impact on his life.”
– Ben Tanzer, author of You Can make Him Like YouThis American Life, and My Father’s House.

“Peter Schwartz’s poems collect our hard-won confessions, our fragile constructions, our temporary homes and our more permanent losses, but not for the purpose of hoarding them away. Instead, Schwartz organizes these obsessions into new structures–complex and beautiful poems–inviting us to experience their transformations.”
– Matt Bell, author of How They Were Found, and The Collectors.

About blpawelek

Dad, hiker, writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

