the lateral sun

this morning, the sun slides low west to east
along the dark yard and silent, burning and damaging
strange voices call beyond the line inviting and tempt

Very tied up with work lately, unable to keep up with creative things, but I think tonight is the change. Have two chapbooks almost complete and ready to start sharing around for possible publication: “sing around me” and “the back of beyond” – both very different in nature, but all from pre-2008.

I was asked during an interview recently about the “back story” of some of the recent published work. I was ashamed to say that I could not remember most of the details, if any.

The explanation: I write everything, really about 99% of everything, in a journal first. All poetry, fiction, blurbs, and most of the sketches. From there, I type them into my computer as a first edit.

The problem: I am horribly slow/delinquent/non-disciplined at the retyping part. Actually, I am about four years behind. Therefore, almost everything published by me now was started/completed at least four years ago. Therefore, I don’t remember it.

I don’t know if I will ever catch up.

About blpawelek

Dad, hiker, writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

