My path today: Donald Park

I first went through these paths last summer, long paths and some climbing up the old rocks. Balancing on cliffs and examing the cracks of rock, looking for …. well, just looking. Plenty of poison ivy, plenty of ticks, shotgun shots in the distance. I will miss this part of the country.

Up Donald Rock, not very strenuous or worrisome at first, but once on top, I creep to the edges closer and closer, one false step. No phone service, no more water or food. Well, I have my journal at least. Here, I also search around the rock, press myself into the cracks, rest in the mini caves with my small lunch.

Donald Rock and the other local rock formations in this park are between 20 and 30,000 years old. This area was not affected by the last glaciers and over time these outcrops were formed by many years of wind and water erosion.

Forego the trail on the way back and trust my own skills. Spring forest will make you pay for such things.

I take the country roads home, visit the old cemeteries. I like the history of such things with plenty of sadness as I walk through.

About blpawelek

Dad, hiker, writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

